Waqf Board is a permanent dedication of movable property/properties for religious i.e. Masjid, Kabarstans, Idgah, Madrassa, Maktab and others pious or charitable purposes and any other objects of public utility sanctioned by the Muslim Law.

For safeguard, development, preservation protection and proper administration of such Waqfs there are different organisations/bodies constituted by the central/state Government under the provision of the Central Waqf Act. The Central Waqf Council, New Delhi is the Apex Statutory Body dealing with Waqf matters, constituted by the Government of India. Such Statutory bodies in State/Union Territories are normally known as the State Waqf Boards.

The Waqf Act, 1995 was enforced in the state of Manipur with effect from the 2nd February, 1997 under a specific orders issued by the Government of Manipur. Consequent on the enforcement of the Central Waqf Act, the first Waqf Board of Manipur was constituted on 20th May, 1988 vide Manipur Govt. Order No. 1/9/16/86-(H) with the appointment of the 11(eleven) eminent Muslims as its members terms of 5 years. The second Waqf Board, Manipur was constituted in the month of September, 1994 for a term of 5 (five) years. The 3rd Board was constituted on the 15th September, 1999. The 4th Waqf Board, Manipur was constituted on the 19th September, 2009. The 5th Waqf Board, Manipur was constituted. On the 15th September, 2009. Also, the Present Board, 6th Board constituted by the State Government on the 5th time, 2015 Vide order no. 21/14/2004/MOBC (Waqf) under the provision of the Waqf Act Amendment Act, 2013 consisting of 12 (twelve) eminent Muslims as its members for a term of 5 years and also members named below:

Sl. No.Member's NamePosition holdsDesignation
1Shri Md. Abdul NasirMLA- 30-Lilong A/CChairman
2Sheikh Noorul HassanMLA- 4- Kshetrigao A/CMember
3Ashab UddinMLA-40- Jiriban A/CMember
4Shri M.H. KhanAddll.Chief Secretary, Govt. of Manipur (Nominee)Member
5Muhammad Azad KhanMutawaliMember
6Alhaj Md. Iqbal AhmedMutawaliMember
7Md. Hafiz QuayamuddinTheologyMember
8Md. Asker Ali MakakmayumSocial WorkerMember
9Md. Deepak ShahSocial WorkerMember
10Md. Rabi KhanAdvocateMember


The administration affairs of the Waqf Board is looked after by the Directorate of  Minority Affair, Manipur. The Waqf Board, Manipur consists of 12 (twelve) members nominated by the State Government under the provision of the Waqf Act 1995 (43 of 1995).

The Board has office building of its own. This Board applied to the State Government in the year 1993 for allotment of land, considering its genuine approach, the Govt. of Manipur allotted a piece of land measuring 1.11 acres under Dag No. 61 and 62 within village No. 100-Telipati, Imphal East under order required formalities. The D.C, Imphal East had delivered possession and bearing patta No. 100/125-IE of the allotted land to the Chairman of the Board 23.7.1996. But very unfortunately due to a strong objection and unlawful obstruction from local club, the Haffiz Hatta Social Welfare Union, Minuthong encroaching some part of the land.

Since its inception in the year 1988, the Waqf Board, Manipur has been functioning narrowly with a very meagre fund and skeleton staff in the Administration section consisting of a secretary (new designated as the Chief Executive Officer), 1 (one) clerk and 1 (one) G-IV employee only.

Due to the Board, full and speed achievements of the schemes/activities taken by the office is fully depend on the proper staffing of the Office so for the office is running by 1 (one) Chief Executive Officer (Addl charge ), 2 (two) Project Officer 2(two) Assistant Project Officer, 1 (one) Assistant Developer 1(one) Accountant, 1(one) Inspector, 1 (one) Upper Division Clerk 1(one) Computer Operator (DEO), 1 (one) Chowkidar) 2(two) Peon. Now creation of 29 different posts in Waqf Board, Manipur by the Administrative Department Vide order No. 20/1/2010-MOBC/687 dated 30.12.2016. Out of 29 post sanctioned 21 staff have been regularised as mentioned above  in the Waqf Board against the posts as given below:

Sl No.Name of StaffDesignationContact Numbers
1Md. Tajuddin ShahProject Officer (Waqf)8259822649
2Sheikh Md. RahimuddinProject Officer(MM)7904687126
3Md. Abdul MajidAssistant Developer (i/c-IT)8131882876
4Md. Islauddin KhanAPO (MM)9402678726
6Md. Abdul BarikInspector (Waqf)8787502952
7Md. Abdul LatifUDC (Cashier8787432978
8Mohd Safique AhamedAccountant9366205560
9Md. SalauddinLDC7005838806
10Mohd Firoz AliDEO8787327823
11Y FazilaHostel Superintendent7005202514
12Md. AyajuddinPeon
13Md. Nasir KhanDriver (MM)
14IbechaCook (Hostel)
15Mumtaz BegumSweeper (Hostel)
16ZarinaSecurity (Hostel)
17 Sajida(Ake)Cook (Hostel)
18Md. Abdul KalamPeon
19SheelaAttendant (hostel)
Close Menu